Research Suggests Consciousness Uses Quantum Entanglement

This could mean the brain uses both classical and quantum physics.

Katrina Paulson
6 min readJan 5, 2023
Photo by Daniel Jensen on Unsplash

I discovered today’s topic whilst researching a different article and was instantly sucked in. After all, it combines some of my favorite subjects — neuroscience, consciousness, and physics. Though for the very same reason, I’m warning you now that things are about to get weird.

None of these three topics are exactly easy to understand on their own, but mushing them together can get a little, well, messy. I admit it took some time for me to wrap my mind around it before I could even sit down to write this. Thankfully, I think I grasp it well enough to save you from a mind melt. At least, if you have one, it’ll be because of what you learn rather than an inability to comprehend it. Ready? Let’s go.

Quick Refresher

First, we might want to review some basics because there are some recurring themes that frequently intertwine.

Quantum Entanglement

The most important term to know is entanglement, which lies at both the heart of quantum physics and today’s topic. A very watered-down explanation is that entanglement is when elementary particles become linked and behave as one regardless of how…

--

--

Katrina Paulson

I wonder about humanity, questions with no answers, and new discoveries. Then I write about them here and on substack! https://curiousadventure.substack.com